Review of Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin (Serpent & Dove Series, Book 3)

This post may contain affiliate or referral codes, for which I receive a small compensation and you get a discount in exchange. These help support the blog, so I can keep creating content. I appreciate your support.

Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin is the third and final book in the Serpent & Dove series. To say this series pulled me in would be an understatement. It has Romeo & Juliet vibes but instead of opposing families, it’s witches and witch hunters. Not to mention a lot of other elements like different covens, gods, Church, politics, and magical beings of all kinds. The story has led up to this conclusion, and I was curious to see how it was going to play out. Especially with the way the second book ended. I’ll be sharing spoilers of the ending of that book in this review as there’s no way to discuss this book (spoiler-free to the ending) without discussing the previous book.

Synopsis

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one. The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound bestselling Serpent & Dove series is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake.

Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come to go home—and claim what is rightfully hers.

But this is no longer the Lou her friends knew. No longer the Lou who captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

Book Details

  • Published: July 27, 2021
  • Page Count: 623 pages
  • Genre: YA Fantasy

My Thoughts on Gods & Monsters

This book starts a week or so after the events of Blood & Honey. Reid, Coco, and Beau travel to the Chateau La Blanc to burn it to the ground with Nichola (the individual possessing Lou’s body). This is after they fled the city following Ansel’s death and Coco starting an eternal fire that is burning down the city. The group does not realize at first that Lou has been possessed though they soon discover that fact, and decide to head to the Wistful Waters where they can exorcise Nichola from Lou.

However, Reid and Lou don’t get a reunion. Almost immediately to prevent Lou’s mother from killing her, Reid sacrifices all of his memories of her to wipe them out of her mother’s head as well. This reverses all of the character development Reid has gone through in the last two books. He’s back to his state at the beginning of Serpent & Dove. The only difference is he knows Lou is a witch now. And he’s the only one who can reverse the spell, but he doesn’t remember how to use magic since all of that was tied around Lou.

So, the majority of the book from that point on becomes about Lou trying to get Reid back while also gathering more allies against her mother. As even though her mother doesn’t remember her, she still wants to see the end of the royal line. Along the way, we get sweet moments with the spirit of Ansel who helps Lou let go of fear and learning to live. To find happiness even if the path to that isn’t easy. The same words of wisdom go to Coco from Ansel as he just wants her to be happy, even if that’s with Beau.

I wouldn’t spoil the last third of the book as a lot happens in the conclusion, but it wrapped up the series nicely. All elements introduced were resolved, and peace was achieved even if it was bittersweet in some ways. It was an emotional rollercoaster to get there. But I liked how Mahurin ended the tale. It had a happy note told from the perspective of Ansel. I didn’t mention it, but this book has more than just Lou’s and Reid’s POV. We get Nichola’s and Ansel’s as well (though theirs are far fewer).

I can’t wait to see what else Shelby Mahurin comes out with in the future as this was her debut series. As I couldn’t put these books down. Overall, I would give Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin a 4 out of 5-star rating.

Love ya,

Mae Polzine

Join the Howl of the Pack today by subscribing! To stay updated on everything I’m doing, follow me on Twitter as that’s where I post quick updates. Or join our Discord server. Also, if you like this post, let me know in the comment section, it really helps me figure out what content you guys appreciate. Don’t be shy I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: