Hey Howl Pack

It’s Mae Polzine! I started this blog back in 2015 to be a place where I could be creative and share things that I love. So, I post a variety of things. I stream a variety of things (gaming, body paint, art, etc.) on Twitch multiple times a week, with stream highlights and all VODs posted on my YouTube Channel.

Lastly, join our Discord to chat with other pack members. We have a great and supportive community over there. I love talking with everyone in Discord as it’s a great way to connect. Also, I offer Twitch emotes, sub badges, and moreover on my shop page as well as my own merch.

Give Me a Topic, Get a Recommendation

I have been seeing this come up on my FYP for TikTok for the last week or so. Mainly from Barnes & Noble employees. One of them goes up to their co-workers with slips of paper, and whatever is on that slip the employee has to recommend a book. So, I thought I would do the same thing. Only instead of asking co-workers, I asked those on my Discord server. I might make this a series, so leave your “tropes” or “topics” in the comments and they might get featured in the next one of these.

My Thoughts on the Vicious Lost Boys Series by Nikki St. Crowe

The Vicious Lost Boys by Nikki St. Crowe is a dark reimaging of Peter Pan and Wendy. So far, only two books have been released: The Never King and The Dark One. The books are fairly short reads, so you can easily read each of them in one sitting. They do have an enemy-to-lover and reverse harem vibe to them, as well as darker undertones. If those aren’t your vibe, then this series isn’t for you.

Pinterest

Follow on Pinterest

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

I have seriously loved Tessonja Odette’s books in the past, so I was excited when she announced a new project, which is actually an updated story that was previously released. Tessonja Odette completely rewrote the story, so there are plot changes, name changes, and other modifications. I did not get to read the original, earlier edition when A Throne of Shadows went by Shadows of Lela, but I was excited to read this one since it’s an enemies-to-lovers romance and described to be perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Air Awakens, and Shadow and Bone. Of those three, I have yet to read Air Awakens but it is on my TBR as I enjoy other books from Elise Kova.

Looking Back on April 2022

Another month has come and gone. I spent the first half of this month in a state of stress. Two months of being unemployed were starting to get to me. I had multiple interviews and jumped through a lot of hoops (essays, presentations, etc.) only to be told “the company changed their mind on hiring” or to hear nothing at all. Luckily, I got a job offer from a company I’ve heard good things about. I won’t start the new job until the middle of May, but I’m excited to start that next chapter. I just need to chill for another month, but I’m not stressed about what’s going to happen next. I already know. It’s just going to take some time before it starts.

My Thoughts on the Never After Series by Emily McIntire

I gave brief thoughts on each of the books during my monthly round-ups, but I thought I would discuss the three books released in the Never After Series by Emily McIntire in one post. I find these to be really interesting. Each book is standalone, so you don’t have to read them in order for each of them to understand what’s happening. They are fractured fairy tales, meaning they have references to the original stories but are not retellings by any means. They are also dark and feature mature and graphic content. So, there are trigger warnings (different ones) for each of the books.

Happy Bunny Day (aka Easter)

t’s been two years since Animal Crossing: New Horizons came out. And the 3rd Bunny Day since it was released. So, I thought I would do another take on the event by body painting. The first one I ever did was Zipper with eggs on my face, and this year I decided to do both on my chest instead. I love both looks, but especially love this year since it shows improvement.