Hey Howl Pack

It’s Mae Polzine! I started this blog back in 2015 to be a place where I could be creative and share things that I love. So, I post a variety of things. I stream a variety of things (gaming, body paint, art, etc.) on Twitch multiple times a week, with stream highlights and all VODs posted on my YouTube Channel. And I’m daily in my Discord chatting with pack members, this is also where you’ll get updates from me on when things are happening around the interwebs. Lastly, I offer Twitch emotes and sub badges over on my shop page, along with other things.

Looking Back on May 2022

Finally! I’m back to working full-time after three months of being out of a job. I was seriously feeling the effects of that. My mind was shattered almost constantly (like I struggled to think or concentrate on one thing at a time), and I was struggling mentally with how to cope. The one thing I had to look forward to in the last month was that I was starting a new job. What I find a little funny, the last two jobs I interviewed for and started with both had start dates very close to my birthday. I’m going to be in what they call “training” for the next six months, but I’m excited about this next chapter.

Pinterest

Follow on Pinterest

Tandem Reading Guide for Empire of Storm and Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas

Today’s tandem reading guide is for Empire of Storm and Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas. On my initial reading of this series, I read the books separately. I have read the entire series multiple times over since then, and many times I have done a tandem read between these two books. I found it helpful as it shows a lot of light on some of the things that happen between the books and keeps the timeline straight in my head on what happened when. If you’re not a massive fan of Chaol by the end of Queen of Shadows, this can help get you through the book that does not include Aelin. Because there are a lot of great characters that come out of Tower of Dawn that you wouldn’t have a lot of background on if you just skipped to Kingdom of Ash, not to mention a bunch of details regarding Maeve that were learned in Tower of Dawn.

Tandem Reading Guide of A Touch of Darkness and A Game of Fate by Scarlett St. Clair

I enjoy reading books in Tandem when they are related (take place at the same time), I flip back and forth between the stories to get the whole picture of what’s going on. Usually, I read the books this way on the second reading rather than the first time. So, my experience it’s hindered by going back and forth between two different books. Or I’ve already read the first book. But sometimes that can be really helpful. So, I thought I would share a reading guide for a tandem read of A Touch of Darkness (ATOD) and A Game of Fate (AGOF) by Scarlett St. Clair.

Books I’m Looking Forward to Reading in June 2022

I haven’t done a post like this since March, while there have been new releases since then there wasn’t a lot to the point where I felt inclined to write a post like this. But in June there are five books that I’m looking forward to coming out this month. Of course, there will be other books that I will be reading as well. Most of which will be off Kindle Unlimited, got to get my money’s worth out of that subscription. Which never seems to be an issue, since I signed up for it.

Inside Out Inspired Body Paint

Recently, I did a body paint inspired by Inside Out. I couldn’t decide which character I wanted to do, so I did them all along with circle bubbles for memories. This was done during a live stream over on Twitch. I figured I would do a lookbook of this since I love how it turned out and it’s been a hot minute since I did one of these types of posts. I might do more of them in the future for each of my looks since I do these typically every Saturday.

Give Me a Topic, Get a Recommendation

I have been seeing this come up on my FYP for TikTok for the last week or so. Mainly from Barnes & Noble employees. One of them goes up to their co-workers with slips of paper, and whatever is on that slip the employee has to recommend a book. So, I thought I would do the same thing. Only instead of asking co-workers, I asked those on my Discord server. I might make this a series, so leave your “tropes” or “topics” in the comments and they might get featured in the next one of these.

My Thoughts on the Vicious Lost Boys Series by Nikki St. Crowe

The Vicious Lost Boys by Nikki St. Crowe is a dark reimaging of Peter Pan and Wendy. So far, only two books have been released: The Never King and The Dark One. The books are fairly short reads, so you can easily read each of them in one sitting. They do have an enemy-to-lover and reverse harem vibe to them, as well as darker undertones. If those aren’t your vibe, then this series isn’t for you.

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

I have seriously loved Tessonja Odette’s books in the past, so I was excited when she announced a new project, which is actually an updated story that was previously released. Tessonja Odette completely rewrote the story, so there are plot changes, name changes, and other modifications. I did not get to read the original, earlier edition when A Throne of Shadows went by Shadows of Lela, but I was excited to read this one since it’s an enemies-to-lovers romance and described to be perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Air Awakens, and Shadow and Bone. Of those three, I have yet to read Air Awakens but it is on my TBR as I enjoy other books from Elise Kova.

Looking Back on April 2022

Another month has come and gone. I spent the first half of this month in a state of stress. Two months of being unemployed were starting to get to me. I had multiple interviews and jumped through a lot of hoops (essays, presentations, etc.) only to be told “the company changed their mind on hiring” or to hear nothing at all. Luckily, I got a job offer from a company I’ve heard good things about. I won’t start the new job until the middle of May, but I’m excited to start that next chapter. I just need to chill for another month, but I’m not stressed about what’s going to happen next. I already know. It’s just going to take some time before it starts.

My Thoughts on the Never After Series by Emily McIntire

I gave brief thoughts on each of the books during my monthly round-ups, but I thought I would discuss the three books released in the Never After Series by Emily McIntire in one post. I find these to be really interesting. Each book is standalone, so you don’t have to read them in order for each of them to understand what’s happening. They are fractured fairy tales, meaning they have references to the original stories but are not retellings by any means. They are also dark and feature mature and graphic content. So, there are trigger warnings (different ones) for each of the books.