My Thoughts on The Stolen Heir (The Stolen Heir Duology, Book 1) by Holly Black

My Thoughts on The Stolen Heir (The Stolen Heir Duology, Book 1) by Holly Black

I enjoyed Holly Black's Folk of the Air trilogy, as well as other stories set in the Elfhame universe. So, when The Stolen Heir duology was announced, I was eager to see how things had progressed since Cardan and Jude were elevated to the position of High King and Queen. Granted, this story isn't about them, but about Suren (Wren) and Oak. Wren is a girl around Oak's age who was tortured and called the Queen of Teeth, despite the fact that it was clear in the previous series that she wasn't in control of what was going on around her at the time. Though the last time we saw her, Jude had freed her and given her command over Lady Nore. Although Oak is the rightful heir to the High Throne, Jude and Cardan have decided to wait until he is of age before handing over the crown.…

View Post

My Thoughts on The Broken Kingdom Series by LJ Andrews

My Thoughts on The Broken Kingdom Series by LJ Andrews

I love a good retelling or adaptation of classic folklore. This series by LJ Andrews is going to be broken into four parts. The first is Beauty and the Beast (books 1-3), and the second is Cinderella (books 4-6). The other two have yet to come, but by the end, all four tales will collide together for a grand finale. While the series are separate, they occur in the same world and are interconnected. So, you can read the Cinderella books first, but it is recommended to read them in the order they were published. The whole series is part Viking, part folklore, with Fae and magic.…

View Post

My Thoughts on Married by Scandal by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on Married by Scandal by Tessonja Odette

I'm not usually someone who reads short stories. I like my books being at least 300 pages at minimum, due to the speed at which I read. However, when I learned that Tessonja Odette was releasing Married by Scandal I had to read it. One, it's set in a universe I know. Two, it's on a character that I wanted to see more of in that universe. Three, I love pretty much everything this author puts out. It's one of the reasons I'm extremely excited that I'm on the ARC list, so when Tessonja Odette releases new books I can read them right away.…

View Post

My Thoughts on A Duel with the Vampire Lord (Married to Magic, Book 3) by Elise Kova

My Thoughts on A Duel with the Vampire Lord (Married to Magic, Book 3) by Elise Kova

Elise Kova always writes good books. I have loved every other book in the Married to Magic series by this author, so when I found out she was releasing another one I was so excited about it. Especially when I heard it was a Beauty and the Beast, and a vampire book in the series. Sign me up! Those are two of my favorite things. Even if it's been done a lot, I always like to see new takes on it.…

View Post

My Thoughts on A Taste of Poison (Entangled with Fae, Book 4) by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on A Taste of Poison (Entangled with Fae, Book 4) by Tessonja Odette

Who doesn't love a good fairy tale/folklore retelling? Tessonja Odette is back at it again, this time with a Snow White retelling. But instead of seven dwarves and a magic mirror, there are a few twists to how these are incorporated into the world of Entangled with Fae. I did receive an advanced reader copy (ARC) of this book, so it's not out quite yet. But I didn't want to hold off on sharing my thoughts on the latest standalone novel in this series.…

View Post

My Thoughts on the Vicious Lost Boys Series by Nikki St. Crowe

My Thoughts on the Vicious Lost Boys Series by Nikki St. Crowe

The Vicious Lost Boys by Nikki St. Crowe is a dark reimaging of Peter Pan and Wendy. So far, only two books have been released: The Never King and The Dark One. The books are fairly short reads, so you can easily read each of them in one sitting. They do have an enemy-to-lover and reverse harem vibe to them, as well as darker undertones. If those aren't your vibe, then this series isn't for you. …

View Post

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

I have seriously loved Tessonja Odette's books in the past, so I was excited when she announced a new project, which is actually an updated story that was previously released. Tessonja Odette completely rewrote the story, so there are plot changes, name changes, and other modifications. I did not get to read the original, earlier edition when A Throne of Shadows went by Shadows of Lela, but I was excited to read this one since it's an enemies-to-lovers romance and described to be perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Air Awakens, and Shadow and Bone. Of those three, I have yet to read Air Awakens but it is on my TBR as I enjoy other books from Elise Kova.…

View Post

My Thoughts on Kiss of the Selkie: A Little Mermaid Retelling (Entangled With Fae, Book 3) by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on Kiss of the Selkie: A Little Mermaid Retelling (Entangled With Fae, Book 3) by Tessonja Odette

I loved Little Mermaid growing up. I used to watch it all the time to a point where I could recite the words of the first and second movies (primarily second) by heart. Though I don't recall it to that level anymore, I know all the music and story insanely well. So, when I saw that Tessonja Odette was doing a retelling of that story in her Entangled With Fae series, I was all for reading it. While you can read the Entangled With Fae series in any order, I would recommend reading them in order as this book takes place one year after the events of Heart of the Raven Prince and refers to characters from there, so there might be spoilers to the previous two books.…

View Post