Revisiting a Series I was Obsessed With: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

Revisiting a Series I was Obsessed With: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I haven't read Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series in over a decade. I used to be completely obsessed with this series. I literally helped run a Twilight fan forum. And it's the origin of the moniker I use for almost everything. So, I decided to revisit this once-loved book series to see where my feelings on the series are now. I'm thinking of doing this with a few book series that I used to be obsessed with. But we must begin with the pinnacle obsession of my teenage years.…

View Post

My Thoughts on A Duel with the Vampire Lord (Married to Magic, Book 3) by Elise Kova

My Thoughts on A Duel with the Vampire Lord (Married to Magic, Book 3) by Elise Kova

Elise Kova always writes good books. I have loved every other book in the Married to Magic series by this author, so when I found out she was releasing another one I was so excited about it. Especially when I heard it was a Beauty and the Beast, and a vampire book in the series. Sign me up! Those are two of my favorite things. Even if it's been done a lot, I always like to see new takes on it.…

View Post

My Thoughts on A Taste of Poison (Entangled with Fae, Book 4) by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on A Taste of Poison (Entangled with Fae, Book 4) by Tessonja Odette

Who doesn't love a good fairy tale/folklore retelling? Tessonja Odette is back at it again, this time with a Snow White retelling. But instead of seven dwarves and a magic mirror, there are a few twists to how these are incorporated into the world of Entangled with Fae. I did receive an advanced reader copy (ARC) of this book, so it's not out quite yet. But I didn't want to hold off on sharing my thoughts on the latest standalone novel in this series.…

View Post

My Thoughts on The Broken Kingdom Series by LJ Andrews

My Thoughts on The Broken Kingdom Series by LJ Andrews

I love a good retelling or adaptation of classic folklore. This series by LJ Andrews is going to be broken into four parts. The first is Beauty and the Beast (books 1-3), and the second is Cinderella (books 4-5). The other two have yet to come, but by the end, all four tales will collide together for a grand finale. While the series are separate, they occur in the same world and are interconnected. So, you can read the Cinderella books first, but it is recommended to read them in the order they were published. The whole series is part Viking, part folklore, with Fae and magic.…

View Post

The Various Reading Orders of Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

The Various Reading Orders of Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

There is a lot of debate over where to read The Assassin Blade in the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Not to mention, two of the books literally take place at the same time on different continents (i.e. Empire of Storm and Tower of Dawn) which can be read in tandem. I already did a post on how to complete a tandem read of those two books. So, I thought I would share the various ways the rest of the series can be read. There isn't a right or wrong way to go about reading this series, and some prefer reading it in a certain order. I am not one of those people, but I also skip over the first and second books whenever I re-read the series or segments of the series. Not that I didn't like them, but from the third book on the series is completely different.…

View Post

The Era of YA Vampire Books

The Era of YA Vampire Books

I was looking at my bookcase, and I still have a bunch of books from when I was a teenager. I went through a serious vampire phase. Don't get me wrong I still love a good vampire book. But there's something about the late 2000s and early 2010s in young adult fantasy books, where there were a lot of books featuring vampires. Now, I didn't read all of them and most of the book series I'm going to mention today I technically never finished either due to going to college or growing out of the phase by the time the rest of the books in the series came out.…

View Post

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

I have seriously loved Tessonja Odette's books in the past, so I was excited when she announced a new project, which is actually an updated story that was previously released. Tessonja Odette completely rewrote the story, so there are plot changes, name changes, and other modifications. I did not get to read the original, earlier edition when A Throne of Shadows went by Shadows of Lela, but I was excited to read this one since it's an enemies-to-lovers romance and described to be perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Air Awakens, and Shadow and Bone. Of those three, I have yet to read Air Awakens but it is on my TBR as I enjoy other books from Elise Kova.…

View Post

My Thoughts on Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights, Book 2) by Chloe Gong

My Thoughts on Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights, Book 2) by Chloe Gong

A year ago I read the first book in the Romeo & Juliet retelling by Chloe Gong called These Violent Delights and fell in love with the story. I wanted to see how the duology played out. Mostly if it kept with the Romeo & Juliet similarities until the very end or if it would take a different turn. So, when Our Violent Ends was announced for pre-order, I got it and finally got my hands on it over the weekend. And while I stick with the notion that I'm not doing reviews for the most part at this time, I have to for this book. Or at least share my thoughts on the books. Note there will be spoilers. If you don't want spoilers, here is what I would rate the book: 4.25 out of 5 stars. It was freaking amazing! I cannot wait to see what else Chloe Gong releases in the future since this was her first series.…

View Post