Hey Howl Pack

It’s Mae Polzine! I started this blog back in 2015 to be a place where I could be creative and share things that I love. So, I post a variety of things. I stream a variety of things (gaming, body paint, art, etc.) on Twitch multiple times a week, with stream highlights and all VODs posted on my YouTube Channel.

Lastly, join our Discord to chat with other pack members. We have a great and supportive community over there. I love talking with everyone in Discord as it’s a great way to connect. Also, I offer Twitch emotes, sub badges, and moreover on my shop page as well as my own merch.

My Thoughts on A Throne of Shadows (Prophecy of the Forgotten Fae, Book 1) by Tessonja Odette

I have seriously loved Tessonja Odette’s books in the past, so I was excited when she announced a new project, which is actually an updated story that was previously released. Tessonja Odette completely rewrote the story, so there are plot changes, name changes, and other modifications. I did not get to read the original, earlier edition when A Throne of Shadows went by Shadows of Lela, but I was excited to read this one since it’s an enemies-to-lovers romance and described to be perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Air Awakens, and Shadow and Bone. Of those three, I have yet to read Air Awakens but it is on my TBR as I enjoy other books from Elise Kova.

My Thoughts on Our Violent Ends (These Violent Delights, Book 2) by Chloe Gong

A year ago I read the first book in the Romeo & Juliet retelling by Chloe Gong called These Violent Delights and fell in love with the story. I wanted to see how the duology played out. Mostly if it kept with the Romeo & Juliet similarities until the very end or if it would take a different turn. So, when Our Violent Ends was announced for pre-order, I got it and finally got my hands on it over the weekend. And while I stick with the notion that I’m not doing reviews for the most part at this time, I have to for this book. Or at least share my thoughts on the books. Note there will be spoilers. If you don’t want spoilers, here is what I would rate the book: 4.25 out of 5 stars. It was freaking amazing! I cannot wait to see what else Chloe Gong releases in the future since this was her first series.

Pinterest

Follow on Pinterest

My Thoughts on the Glass Sword (Red Queen, Book 2) by Victoria Aveyard

The next book in the Red Queen series is Glass Sword, and this one kind of killed my groove when it came to reading. So, I don’t know if I’m immediately going to jump into the third book after this. I might read a few other first then return to the Red Queen series. I do plan on finishing it, but it’s not going to be any time soon. Maybe the series will get better now that the main things I was spoiled to are over, but as I go into in the review Mare’s POV really made the book drag. She needs to have some serious character development in order for my opinion on the rest of the series to get better and right now I’m not in the mood to deal with it.

My Thoughts on the Red Queen (Red Queen, Book 1) by Victoria Aveyard

While I’m not writing book reviews for the most part at the moment, as I just want to enjoy the books without worrying about how they will come across in a blog post. Or what things I’m going to talk about in them. If something calls out to me enough I will write about it. The Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard fits into that. This series has been sitting on my shelf for ages. I originally tried to avoid all spoilers, then months past and that went to the wayside. So, I thought I would share it on the blog. I was also going to write about the whole series in one post, but I’m going to separate it into each book instead.

My Thoughts on The Harbinger Trilogy by Jennifer L. Armentrout

After reading The Dark Elements series by Jennifer L. Armentrout, I knew I was instantly going to start reading the follow-up series called The Harbinger trilogy since I knew it involved Zayne. The main reason I never got overly invested in the love triangle of that book since I knew Zayne was never going to be the love interest for Layla, but for Trinity in this series. But I didn’t really know what the focus of the series was going to be. I avoided looking at the descriptions when I ordered these, so there were no spoilers for either trilogy.

My Thoughts on The Dark Elements Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Normally, I review books individually but I got so into reading The Dark Elements series by Jennifer L. Armentrout that I didn’t want to take a break to write reviews of each book. So, I decided to collectively review them similar to how I did with The Fair Isle trilogy… granted that one was because the books were combined. I enjoy the Blood and Ash and Flesh and Fire series from Jennifer L. Armentrout, so I thought I would read other series that she has published in the past. I was planning on reading The Harbinger series since that was another recent series of hers. But I saw it began with The Dark Elements series or at least one character came from there, so to avoid spoilers of that series I started with The Dark Elements.