Review of Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin (Serpent & Dove Series, Book 1)

This post may contain affiliate or referral codes, for which I receive a small compensation and you get a discount in exchange. These help support the blog, so I can keep creating content. I appreciate your support.

This is a book series that has been sitting on my shelves for a few months now, but I refused to pick it up until the entire trilogy was released. I got enough books in unfinished series, I didn’t want to start another one. So, when I realized the last book was coming out this week I finally picked up the first one. And man, it was the first book good. I’ll release the other two once I finish each of those books.

Synopsis

Bound as one, to love, honor, or burn. Book one of a stunning fantasy trilogy, this tale of witchcraft and forbidden love is perfect for fans of Kendare Blake and Sara Holland.

Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and took shelter in the city of Cesarine, forsaking all magic and living off whatever she could steal. There, witches like Lou are hunted. They are feared. And they are burned.

As a huntsman of the Church, Reid Diggory has lived his life by one principle: Thou shalt not suffer a witch to live. But when Lou pulls a wicked stunt, the two are forced into an impossible situation—marriage.

Lou, unable to ignore her growing feelings, yet powerless to change what she is, must make a choice. And love makes fools of us all.

Book Details

  • Published: September 3, 2019
  • Page Count: 518 pages
  • Genre: YA Fantasy

My Thoughts on Serpent & Dove

To say this book was an enemy-to-lovers tale would be an understatement. They aren’t just characters that don’t like each other. They have fundamental ideology differences. Lou is a witch (a princess of her people) and Reid is a witch hunter. They are polar opposites. And yet within the first 100 pages, they are forced to marry each other. Reid so his reputation wouldn’t be destroyed, and Lou to avoid being hanged for being a criminal (or burned at the stake if they discovered she was a witch). So, to say the two have a lot to overcome in the series is an understatement. Yet somehow they do, and I loved it.

There are a lot of plot twists at the end of the first book to set up the other two books in the series. Not to mention tie all the characters together. There isn’t a single uncomplicated relationship in the entire cast of main and side characters like half-siblings and unknown parents are discovered. Literally, everyone is connected to each other somehow. And some of those relationships play into other plot twists. I won’t spoil what those are in case you want to read it. But a lot goes down at the end of the book.

I couldn’t put Serpent & Dove down while I was reading it. It was that good. I can’t wait to read the rest of the trilogy. I need to know what happens next with Lou and Reid. As things got interesting at the end. Not to mention Lou’s mother (this isn’t too much of a spoiler as it’s mentioned early on in the book) wants to sacrifice her in order to kill all the children of the King (bastards and legitimate). So, every witch of Lou’s coven wants her dead through a sacrificial ritual so they can take back their land. I don’t know how they’re going to achieve that peacefully. As the witches aren’t going to just let Lou live. And the witch hunters aren’t going to stop as they are too engrained in the Church believing that witches aren’t people. So, yeah… can’t wait to find out how that gets resolved.

Overall, I would give Serpent & Dove by Shelby Mahurin a 4 out of 5-star rating.

Love ya,

Mae Polzine

Join the Howl of the Pack today by subscribing! To stay updated on everything I’m doing, follow me on Twitter as that’s where I post quick updates. Or join our Discord server. Also, if you like this post, let me know in the comment section, it really helps me figure out what content you guys appreciate. Don’t be shy I would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: